Post Format

Signs of Life

Leave a Reply

It has been one heck of a year. I know, usually folks say that at the end of the year, but the first few months of my 2015 haven’t gone quite as smoothly as I would have liked, which you may have guessed if you read my last post. Never before has the transitioning season echoed my life as much as the spring has this year. Yes, I am going to that cliché place, but it’s completely warranted, I promise. Also, feel free to throw on some Turn! Turn! Turn! by The Byrds and shed a tear, or one hundred, as you reflect upon your own life. No judgement here.

First, let’s get the obvious out-of-the-way; the winter fucking sucks and this year was no exception.  You didn’t think I was going there did you?  Many apologies for the foul language, but the cold, dreary days do NOT bring out the best in me. And when you are embarking on a lifelong healing journey, winters are like the snakebite in the Oregon Trail video game. Damn, the journey is hard enough without snakes and winters, don’t you agree?!  This being said, I was ecstatic when I started seeing signs of life spring up around the neighborhood and during a quick trip to our nation’s capital.

Much like the crocus (see photo above) who bravely signals to its fellow spring perennials that it’s relatively safe to rise to the surface, I, too, have been nudged by the forces of nature to come out of hibernation and nail my colors to the mast.

Inspired by my significant other, James; my family; dear friends; old colleagues; and, of course, the brilliant glowing star, whose slow death gives me life, I have decided to start this year anew.  It’s not January you say?   The hell with New Year’s being in the muckiest of muck, muck winter – I am calling this time of year the *new* year. Because that’s what it is: New.

I am not implying that hard times can only be had when it’s cold – I am not completely ridiculous.  But I ask you a simple question – isn’t it harder to be down when the sun is shining?  The answer is a resounding YES.

I leave you with two thoughts to consider as you enjoy the new year:

1.  “We’re all allowed to feel shitty about things in our lives that are shitty.” (Polly, Orange is the New Black)

2.  I am not the only one who feels like this.  Here comes the sun….

 

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

